My Land Is Kenya.

image
Happy Birthday Kenya. Jamhuri day. Kenya at 52.

I’m not into writing such stuff but don’t get me wrong…I’m very proud of my nationality. If you don’t know I’m Kenyan.

Kenya is my home, my life, my heartbeat basically my everything. Kenya nchi yangu, Kenya nchi yangu (Kenya my country).

I may not be that good in history but what I’m sure is, I know some basic knowledge.

Kenya on this day back in 1963 gained its independence from Britain. We had our first president the late Mzee Jomo Kenyatta. Our mwanzilishi wa taifa (founder)

Sadly, Mzee Jomo Kenyatta passed on back in 1978.

Who other than His Excellency Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi would take over? He was born on September 2nd, 1924. His presidency had ups and downs. Mountains and valleys. One of the mountains was the coup in 1981/82. Ain’t that old to know. Anyway he served his time summing up to a total of 24 years of presidency. So far the longest serving president in Kenya. Mzee is currently 91 at his Kabarak home.

If you did your Math well then I bet you know he “retired” in 2002.

At this juncture, my motherland voted in a new president His Excellency Mwai Kibaki. Not much about him but he was one interesting character. From mafi ya kuku to kumbafu to everything. He served two terms successfully with great development in infrastructure among other sectors.

From 2012 to date we have our fourth president His Excellency Uhuru Kenyatta. A young president in reference to his predecessors. The son to our first president.  He is very lucky if, luck would be welcomed. He hosted President Obama earlier this year and recently Pope Francis. His presidency has been eventful but also look on the bright side.

The chronology brings us back to Jamhuri Day. Which is today. This is an amazing day for our country. We may be a “war-torn” country as per Fox News or a “hotbed of terror” as per CNN but what I know, we are blessed.

I am proud of you Kenya. I am #MadeofBlack.

http://www.twitter.com/@mordecai_kip/

Leave your feedback.

